You have questions, we have answers. If you can’t find what you’re looking for in our FAQ section below, use our online submission form.

Result: Category: Traffic Control Supervisor

Is training available at a company’s facility?

Yes. Contact Evergreen Safety Council for more information.

How long is the certification valid for?

Washington and Idaho certifications are valid for four years. Oregon certification is valid for three years.

How long is the certification valid for?

Washington and Idaho certifications are valid for four years. Oregon certification is valid for three years.

How can I register?

You can register online by visiting our registration portal, located in the top right corner of this window.

Where are the classes located?

Please visit our course calendar for a complete list of scheduled classes.

What states accept the TCS cards?

Washington only accepts a Washington State card at this time. Oregon only accepts an Oregon State card at this time.

Idaho will accept both Washington and Oregon TCS cards; however, the TCS is responsible for reviewing Idaho standards and laws.

How do you recertify as a TCS?

Recertification is accomplished by successfully completing a one-day class and a score of 80% or better on the recertification exam. Evergreen Safety Council regularly offers one-day recertification classes.

To qualify for the recertification course you must submit the following information:

1. A current state-approved Flagger Certification card.

2. A copy of your current TCS or TCT certificate.

If your Oregon or Idaho TCS card expires, you have 60 days to take the one-day recertification. If your Washington TCS card expires, you have 180 days to take the one-day recertification. If your card is expired, you cannot work as a Traffic Control Supervisor.

What is required to get a TCT certification?

To be recognized as a traffic control technician (TCT) under the Evergreen Safety Council program, the candidate must:

1. Possess a current Flagger Certification card recognized by the Department of Transportation.

2. Successfully complete the TCS course and exam with a score of 80% or better.

Certification as a TCS requires the accumulation and documentation of one year of experience in traffic control–related tasks (2,000 work hours = 1 year, and may be accumulated over multiple years). Candidates must then take the one-day recertification class and pass the exam. Review TCS certification requirements when trying to achieve your TCS certification.

What is the difference between a TCS and TCT?

TCS stands for Traffic Control Supervisor.

The TCS ensures that the traffic control measures shown on the approved traffic control plans are properly implemented, operating, and documented on the project. The contractor’s TCS may not be required full time on a given project, but is required to perform all duties required by the specifications. The TCS is responsible to be on the project whenever traffic control labor is being utilized, or less frequently if authorized by the engineer.

TCT is a Traffic Control Technician.

The TCT is an apprentice position, indicating an individual who has not obtained enough hours and/or experience to be a TCS but has passed the Traffic Control Supervisors Course. The TCT can perform some of the duties of the TCS under the TCS’s supervision. (Note: The TCT is not a recognized certification in Washington; Idaho offers a separate course for a TCT.)

Stay in the Loop

We'll share important information on the topics that matter to you!

Choose your areas of interest so that you will receive the information you need the most.

Evergreen Safety Council