Monty C. Lish & Stanley O. McNaughton Scholarship

The Evergreen Safety Council (ESC) Board of Directors established the Monty C. Lish & Stanley O. McNaughton Scholarship for Safety and Health Careers to honor Mr. Lish & Mr. McNaughton for their vast contributions to community service and education, as well as their dedication to Evergreen Safety Council. The scholarship program was developed to encourage more college students to consider Safety and Health professions as viable and worthwhile careers.

The Board of Directors has agreed to set aside 5% of ESC membership fees to create funding for the scholarship awards. It is the desire of the Board and the staff to see the number of scholarships and size of the program grow, to benefit organizations and individuals interested in making health and safety their field of interest.

Candidate Eligibility

Applicants for the Monty C. Lish & Stanley O. McNaughton Scholarship for Safety and Health Careers must be:

  • Central Washington University students with a major in Safety and Health Management, OR
  • Children or stepchildren of employees of an Evergreen Safety Council member company, OR
  • Employees of an Evergreen Safety Council member company.

Preference will be given to applicants majoring in a safety-related field of study, as well as applicants from other areas of study who are planning to go into a safety and health career such as safety management, safety engineering, public health, risk management, or safety and health education.


Up to two awards of $1,000 each will be granted.

Applicant Responsibilities

Applicants must submit the following to the Evergreen Safety Council Scholarship Committee:

  • A complete scholarship application
  • A one-page (no longer) essay discussing the applicant’s goals and how they relate to health and safety
  • A current, complete transcript (Unofficial transcripts must display student name, school name, grade and credit hours earned for each course, and term in which each course was taken. Grade reports are not acceptable.)

Application materials must be postmarked no later than March 5, 2021.

Applicants will receive acknowledgment of receipt of their application by ESC; however, no review of information or completeness will be made by ESC staff. If an acknowledgment is not received within three weeks, applicants may contact ESC to verify the application has been received.

Applicants are responsible for gathering and submitting all necessary information. Applications are evaluated on the information supplied; therefore, please answer all questions as completely as possible. Incomplete applications will not be evaluated. All information received is considered confidential and is reviewed only by the ESC Scholarship Committee.

Administration of the Program

The scholarship program is administered by the ESC Scholarship Committee. Awards are granted without regard to race, color, creed, religion, gender, disability, or national origin.

Selection of Recipients

Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of academic record, demonstrated leadership, participation in school and community activities, honors, and work experience. Unusual personal or family circumstances may also be considered. Special attention will be given to the essay.

Recipients are selected by the ESC Scholarship Committee. Other than to verify membership affiliation, in no instance does any employee of Evergreen Safety Council play a part in the selection. All applicants agree to accept the decision as final.

Not all applicants will be selected as recipients. Awards are not renewable, but students may reapply to the program if they meet eligibility requirements. Awards are for undergraduate and graduate study.

Announcement and Distribution of Awards

Applicants will be notified by the end of March. Scholarship payments are made in August. A check will be mailed to each recipient’s home address and made payable to the student’s school.


Recipients have no obligation to Evergreen Safety Council. They are, however, required to supply the ESC Scholarship Committee with complete transcripts when requested and to notify the ESC Scholarship Committee of any changes of address, school enrollment, or other relevant information. The applicant is solely responsible for gathering and submitting all necessary information for the application process. The ESC Scholarship Committee reserves the right not to process applications found to be incomplete as of the application deadline. Applicants give permission to Evergreen Safety Council to publish their name if selected for the award.


Evergreen Safety Council reserves the right to review the conditions and procedures of this scholarship program and to make changes at any time, including termination of the program.

Apply Today

Recent Recipients

2020 Chloe Billingslea
Chloe has been studying Psychology and Public Health and will be receiving her masters in Behavioral Health. She attends Tulane University in New Orleans, LA.

Past Recipients

2019 Dakota Ross and Danielle Ross

2018 Nicole Anders Hermann Brothers Logging & Construction Inc., Natalie Smith LTI, Inc.
2017 William Collins City of Bremerton, Jessica Dyck Evergreen Safety Council
2016 Natalie Smith LTI, Inc., Jessica Dyck Evergreen Safety Council
2015 Jacob Welch Cascade Natural Gas, Jordan Marti NW Traffic Control
2014 Mackenzie Matthews Cascade Natural Gas, Michelle Rudd LTI, Inc.
2012 Amber Baumgarten Cascade Natural Gas
2011 Mary Fantazia Jones Stevedoring Company, Morgan Hofman Cascade Natural Gas
2010 Meghan McKnight City of Bainbridge Island
2009 Jesse Stafford Pabco Roofing Products
2007 Susan Eylander Associated Grocers, Inc., Alyson Scott Seattle Steam Company
2006 Benjamin Eigner Associated Grocers, Aranjeet Singh Dept. of Health
2005 Sarah Fantazia Jones Stevedoring Company
2004 Aranjeet Singh Dept. of Health
2003 Sarah Fantazia Jones Stevedoring Company

Stay in the Loop

We'll share important information on the topics that matter to you!

Choose your areas of interest so that you will receive the information you need the most.

Evergreen Safety Council