The Board of Directors for Evergreen Safety Council has agreed to set aside 5% of of the membership fees to create funding for the scholarship awards. It is the desire of both the Board and the staff to see the number of scholarships awarded and size of the program grow to benefit both organizations and individuals interested in making health and safety their field of interest.

The Monty C. Lish & Stanley O. McNaughton Scholarship

The Monty C. Lish & Stanley O. McNaughton Scholarship for Safety and Health Careers was developed to encourage more college students to consider safety and health professions as viable and worthwhile careers. Applicants must be employees of a member company of Evergreen Safety Council, children or stepchildren of employees, or children or stepchildren of member company owners who meet specified eligibility requirements, or Central Washington University students with a major in Safety & Health Management. Preference will be given to applicants majoring in a safety related field of study, as well as students from other areas of study who are planning to go into a safety and health career such as industrial hygiene, public health, insurance, risk management, or health education. Application postmark deadline is February 15, 2019.

The American Association of Safety Councils Scholarship

The “American Association of Safety Councils Scholarship” is a maximum scholarship of $1,000 per year.


The scholarship applicant must currently be a full-time student in the sophomore level or higher at an accredited college or university. The person must have a cumulative GPA of 2.75 or higher and will be selected by the Scholarship Committee based on involvement in community/school organizations, leadership positions held, awards received and a strong emphasis will be placed on a submitted essay relating to how safety and health are important in their life and/or career.

Application deadline is March 1, 2019 to be considered for the American Association of Safety Councils Scholarship.