Pilot Car Operator

Colorado Certification Online

This 8-hour certification course is offered through Colorado Safety Association. Contact them for details at coloradosafety.org.

COURSE PREVIEW
Play Video

What’s included:

  • 8-hour instructor-led online class
  • Certification exam

You will earn:

  • Colorado Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operator certification card (valid for 4 years)

Prerequisites:

  • Students must submit a signed application form and other required materials (including their driver’s license, driving record, proof of insurance, and a passport photo) in order to attend the training.

Convenient online training

Our online program has all the benefits of classroom training, without the cost and inconvenience of leaving your home or office.

Valid in multiple states

Find out which states recognize the Washington State Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operator certification.

Decades of experience

For over 20 years, Evergreen Safety Council has been an industry leader in Pilot Car program development and training.

Engaging and fun

Learn from our talented, knowledgeable instructors using practical course materials and engaging activities and demonstration videos.

WITPAC prerequisite

Our WA P/EVO certification could be your first step toward a career in the wind transportation industry. Follow up by earning your WITPAC certification!

What will I learn in the Pilot Car course?

Our class covers the latest laws, regulations, and industry standards on:

  • State requirements for P/EVOs and their vehicles
  • Reading and understanding the laws and permits that govern Oversize Load transport
  • The importance of planning, including route surveys and pre-runs
  • How to pilot a load along different types of roads
  • Using a high pole to properly measure overhead obstructions
  • How to handle hazards and emergencies

How does the online class work?

Our online course is an 8-hour, instructor-led webinar followed by an online certification exam that is proctored via webcam. Students must have the proper computer equipment to attend the online training.

At the end of the course, you will earn your Colorado Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operator certification card (valid for 4 years).

Where can I use my Washington P/EVO certification?

A Colorado Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operator certification allows you to operate in the following states: Washington, Utah, Colorado, Oklahoma, Minnesota, Georgia, Texas, Kansas, Arizona, Florida, Pennsylvania, and North Carolina. Learn more in our article on Pilot Car Reciprocity. 

Note that some states have specific requirements regarding your driver license, insurance, equipment, or other details. Check the rules in the states where you operate.

Need help logging into your online P/EVO course?

Class starts at 8AM PT (Pacific Time). Please use this chart to determine when class starts for you in various time zones.

Ready to earn your Colorado Pilot Car certification?

Evergreen Safety Council is proud to be endorsed by the American Association of Safety Councils and Specialized Carriers and Rigging Association.

Related Courses

Witpac-BG-scaledArtboard 3

WITPAC certification | Blended course

Take your career to the next level with WITPAC (Wind Industry Transportation Professional Advanced Certification). Our convenient and effective online course combines self-directed and live online training. In-person classes are also available at select locations.
Forklift instructor image-100

Forklift | On-site training

Lift your career to new heights with Evergreen Safety Council's Forklift operator training course. We have partnered with the Evergreen Goodwill of Marysville to offer our comprehensive, OSHA-compliant Forklift Operator Training program.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I upload required documents?

You can upload your required documents by using our Colorado registration from.

Note, you must register for the Colorado Pilot Car class via our registration portal, prior to uploading your documents.

Are cards from other states accepted in Colorado?

Yes. Currently, Colorado accepts cards from Arizona, Florida, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Utah, and Washington. See the CDOT Pilot/Escort Vehicle Information page for details.

Our Pilot Car Reciprocity Page also has more information about this topic.

Is the Colorado certification valid in other states?

Yes. The Colorado P/EVO certification is valid in several other states.

Please see our Pilot Car Reciprocity Page for further details.

What equipment do I need to operate a pilot car in Colorado?

P/E vehicles are required to have special signs, lights, and specific safety equipment. Refer to Colorado Code of Regulations, sections 502 through 506 for details.

What kind of vehicle do I need to operate as a pilot in Colorado?

Details on pilot car vehicle and equipment requirements for Colorado are listed in the Colorado Code of Regulations, sections 502 through 506.

What kind of insurance do I need in order to operate as a P/EVO in Colorado?

According to Colorado Code of Regulations 500.4, P/EVOs in Colorado must

500.4.3 Possess current certificate(s) of insurance or endorsement(s) which indicates that the operator, or the operator’s employer, has in full force and effect insurance coverage(s) for bodily injury and/or property damage as a result of the operation of the escort vehicle, the escort vehicle operator, or both causing the bodily injury and/or property damage arising out of an act or omission by the Pilot Escort Vehicle operator of the escort duties required by the Rules. Such insurance(s) or endorsement(s) shall be no less than $1,000,000 Combined Single Limit and/or $1,000,000 per occurrence of commercial liability coverage, as applicable, and must be maintained at all times during the term of the certification. The insurance certificate must indicate on the face of the document that the policy is for the operation of Pilot Escort Vehicle(s) and pilot escort duties/responsibilities as required by these Rules.

What are the requirements for being a P/EVO in Colorado?

According to Colorado Code of Regulations 500.4, students must meet the following requirements in order to attend a Pilot/Escort Certification Program:

500.4.1 Must be a minimum of 18 years of age.

500.4.2 Possess a valid driver’s license for the state jurisdiction in which he/she resides.

500.4.3 Possess current certificate(s) of insurance or endorsement(s) which indicates that the operator, or the operator’s employer, has in full force and effect insurance coverage(s) for bodily injury and/or property damage as a result of the operation of the escort vehicle, the escort vehicle operator, or both causing the bodily injury and/or property damage arising out of an act or omission by the Pilot Escort Vehicle operator of the escort duties required by the Rules. Such insurance(s) or endorsement(s) shall be no less than $1,000,000 Combined Single Limit and/or $1,000,000 per occurrence of commercial liability coverage, as applicable, and must be maintained at all times during the term of the certification. The insurance certificate must indicate on the face of the document that the policy is for the operation of Pilot Escort Vehicle(s) and pilot escort duties/responsibilities as required by these Rules.

In addition to the documents listed above, you must also submit an official copy of your Motor Vehicle Record and a passport photo in order to register for the Colorado P/EVO class. See our application page for details.

What are the course policies?

Courses

On-sites

Resources

About