Traffic Control Supervisor certification

Traffic Control Supervisors oversee the equipment and crews who help redirect traffic in work zones. We offer classes for Oregon and Washington State Traffic Control Supervisor or Traffic Control Technician certification.
Website iCons-07

Traffic Control Supervisor courses


TCS | Washington State certification | In-person course

Get trained with our 3-day in-person certification class, or renew your certification in our 8-hour in-person recertification course.
Road work ahead sign

TCS | Oregon certification | Online and in-person courses

Our 3-day certification and 8-hour recertification classes are offered live online, and in person at select locations.
Road Work ahead sign

TCS | Idaho Traffic Control supervisor course

Our 2-day Idaho Traffic Control Supervisor certification course will be offered again starting in 2023.

Private Safety Training Classes

Have a whole crew to train? With on-site training, one of our experienced instructors will train your staff at your facility.


About our Traffic Control Supervisor program

Take your career to the next level

If you have flagging or other work zone experience, you may be eligible to become a Traffic Control Supervisor. Gain in-depth knowledge of federal and state highway construction and traffic control standards, and learn how to supervise the safe implementation of traffic control plans in work zones.

What is a Traffic Control Technician?

Those who do not meet the Washington or Oregon requirements for becoming a Traffic Control Supervisor may still attend the training, and will receive a Traffic Control Technician card upon completion. TCT training is great for engineers, inspectors, and flaggers who want to better understand the standards, documents, and realities that come up in the field. Becoming a TCT also allows you to work alongside a TCS, understand what is expected of them, and gain the experience required to do that job. If you have earned your TCT card and you submit verification of required work experience when you attend our 1-day recertification class, you can earn your TCS certification at that time.

Can I earn my TCS certification online?

Oregon TCS certification classes are offered online. Washington does not allow online TCS training—all classes must be in person. We offer in-person WA TCS classes in locations around the state. Visit our registration page for details on upcoming classes.


What should I do if I lose my Flagger certification card?

As long as your certification is valid, you may order a replacement card by filling out this form. There is a $20 fee. Note that many of our certification cards are printable, meaning that you receive a PDF copy of your card upon course completion, which you are welcome to print and keep in your wallet. We also recommend saving the PDF on your mobile device.

How long is a Flagger certification valid for?

Washington and Idaho Flagger certifications are valid for three years.

Do I need a Driver License to become a Flagger?

You do not need a Driver License. Any form of government-issued ID is acceptable.

Is the Washington Flagger class offered online?

No, the Washington Flagger class is not offered online. Per Washington State rules, these classes are only offered in person.

Is there a practice test for Flagger?

No, but you can read through the digital copy of book and try answering the review questions at the end of each chapter. You’ll receive a link to the digital copy of the book with your registration confirmation.

Can I use a translator in the Washington Flagger class?

You may, but it needs to be someone who is not a close friend or family member. Students must be able to answer the questions on their own.

What are the physical requirements/demands of a flagger?
  • Receive and communicate specific instructions clearly, firmly, and courteously
  • Move and maneuver quickly
  • Control signaling devices, such as paddles
  • Understand and apply safe traffic-control practices
  • Recognize dangerous traffic situations and warn workers
  • Stand for prolonged periods on uneven surfaces (up to 10 hours)
  • Traverse uneven surfaces and terrain
  • Stoop, kneel, or crouch
  • Grasp, push, or pull
  • Hear warnings
  • See dangerous situations
  • Occasionally lift and/or move up to 40 pounds
  • Receive, understand, and take positive appropriate action based on information/instructions presented verbally and/or in writing
Do I have to have a photo on my Flagger card?

No, you do not need to have a photo on your card. Washington and Idaho Flagger cards are designed to be valid with a government-issued photo ID (such as a state ID card or Driver License).

What is the minimum age for Flaggers?

You must be at least 18 years of age to operate as a flagger.

Can I use my Washington, Oregon, or Idaho Flagger card in other states?

Washington, Oregon, and Idaho State Flagger cards are accepted in the states of Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana for Department of Transportation projects.

Traffic Control Supervisor articles in our safety library

Hot Sunny Day Graphic

Traffic Control Supervisor

Heatstroke Prevention, Symptoms and Treatment

Heat-related illnesses can occur at any time, but workers are especially at risk during the warmer summer months. Whether you work outside or indoors, it’s important to learn to recognize signs and symptoms of heat stroke, heat exhaustion, and other heat-related illnesses—especially when temperatures rise.


National Work Zone Awareness Week - April 11-15, 2022

National Work Zone Awareness Week takes place each year during the beginning of “construction season” to remind road users to be mindful and use their best judgment when encountering work zones. The theme for this year’s event, hosted by the Michigan Department of Transportation, is “Drive Safe. Work Safe. Save Lives.”


Flagger Apparel Reference Guide

What you wear as a flagger is just as important as the role you perform. Get the correct high visibility safety apparel for flagging & becoming job-ready.


Glow On: High-Visibility Work Zone Safety Apparel

You may have seen road and construction workers dressed in fluorescent (often referred to as “high-visibility” or “hi-vis”) safety gear such as hard hats and vests. You probably know that these bright colors help flaggers and other road workers stand out in situations where their safety is at risk. But do you know why hi-vis colors seem to glow the way they do?


Private training