Frequently Asked Questions

You have questions, we have answers. If you can’t find what you’re looking for in our FAQ section below, use our online submission form.

What are the course policies?
What are the physical requirements/demands of a flagger?
  • Receive and communicate specific instructions clearly, firmly, and courteously
  • Move and maneuver quickly
  • Control signaling devices, such as paddles
  • Understand and apply safe traffic-control practices
  • Recognize dangerous traffic situations and warn workers
  • Stand for prolonged periods on uneven surfaces (up to 10 hours)
  • Traverse uneven surfaces and terrain
  • Stoop, kneel, or crouch
  • Grasp, push, or pull
  • Hear warnings
  • See dangerous situations
  • Occasionally lift and/or move up to 40 pounds
  • Receive, understand, and take positive appropriate action based on information/instructions presented verbally and/or in writing
Read More
When do I need to re-take the course?

There is no requirement for recertification, but we recommend re-taking the course every 3 years so that you have the most up-to-date information on laws and best practices. This also ensures that the information stays fresh.

Read More
What documents must I submit if I am recertifying my Washington Traffic Control Supervisor (TCS) or Traffic Control Technician (TCT) certification?

To receive your Washington TCS or TCT certification card, the following documents must be submitted:

  • A current state-approved flagger certification card. Accepted states are Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington.
  • A current TCS or TCT certification card.

To send us your documentation, please fill out this form

Read More
What documents must I submit for my Washington Traffic Control Technician (TCT) certification?

To receive your Washington State Traffic Control Technician certification card, you must submit a current state-approved flagger certification card. Accepted states are Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington.

To send us your documentation, please fill out this form.

Read More
What documents must I submit for my Washington Traffic Control Supervisor (TCS) certification?

What documents must I submit for my Washington Traffic Control Supervisor (TCS) certification? 

To receive your Washington State Traffic Control Supervisor certification card, the following documents must be submitted:

  • A current state-approved flagger certification card. Accepted states are Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington.
  • Verification of 2000 hours of work zone experience 

Verification of 2000 hours of work zone experience must be submitted as follows:

  • 2 signed letters (or 1 letter with 2 signatures)

Who can submit the letters? Letters may be submitted by anyone who can verify the knowledge and experience of the TCS candidate, including employers (past and/or present), subcontractors, DOT Inspectors, or other Traffic Control Supervisors.

What must the letter(s) include? TCS candidates may no longer have just flagging hours. The letter(s) must include a brief history and detailed description of at least TWO of the following:

  • Developing traffic control plans (TCPs) for roadway maintenance, construction, utility work, or special events
  • Reviewing TCPs for proper application and MUTCD compliance
  • Inspection of traffic control devices and TCP performance, and reporting or correcting deficiencies
  • Installing and removing traffic control devices in accordance with TCPs for lane closures on multi-lane roadways and other traffic control operations
  • Performing flagger duties

What format must the letter(s) be in? The letter(s) must:

  • be typed and on company letterhead. (If letterhead is not available, an attached company business card is acceptable).
  • provide contact information for the authors.

To send us your documentation, please fill out this form.

Read More
What documents must I submit if I am recertifying my Oregon Traffic Control Supervisor (TCS) or Traffic Control Technician (TCT) certification?

To receive your Oregon TCS or TCT certification card, the following documents must be submitted:

  • A current state-approved flagger certification card. Accepted states are Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington.
  • A current TCS or TCT certification card.

To send us your documentation, please fill out this form

Read More
What documents must I submit for my Oregon Traffic Control Technician (TCT) certification?

In order to receive your certification, please fill out this form prior to class to avoid processing delays. No document uploads are required for a Oregon TCT.

Read More
What documents must I submit for an Oregon Traffic Control Supervisor (TCS) certification?

To receive your Oregon Traffic Control Supervisor (TCS) certification, you must submit verification of 2000 hours of work zone experience.

Documentation must be submitted in the form of 2 signed letters (or 1 letter with 2 signatures).

Who can submit the letter(s)? Letter(s) may be submitted by anyone who can verify the knowledge and experience of the TCS candidate, including employers (past and/or present), subcontractors, DOT Inspectors, or other Traffic Control Supervisors.

What must the letter(s) include? The letter(s) must include:

  • A brief history of the candidate’s work experience (see below for acceptable work zone experience)
  • Project(s) they have worked on
  • Approximate number of cumulative hours of work as a Flagger/work zone Worker

What format must the letter(s) be in? The letter(s) must:

  • be typed on company letterhead. (If letterhead is not available, an attached company business card is acceptable.)
  • provide the contact information for the authors.

The required 2000 hours of work zone experience may include work in the following areas:

  • Experience as a construction inspector, including inspection of traffic control
  • Traffic control work on a survey crew
  • Designing or reviewing traffic control plans
  • Other specific traffic control experience (set-up and take-down)
  • Flagging experience

To send us your documentation, please fill out this form.

Read More
What requirements do I have to meet to earn the WITPAC certification?

In order to receive a WITPAC certification card, you must complete the WITPAC training AND hold either a valid P/EVO certification (from WA, AZ, CO, FL, GA MN, NC, OK, UT, or VA) or a Class A CDL from any state (or Canadian equivalent).

If you do not hold one of these prior qualifications, you may still participate in this course. Instead of a certification card, you will receive a proof of completion.

Read More
Where will the WITPAC instructor-led classes be held?

The WITPAC instructor-led sessions will be held virtually on Zoom, as well as in person at select locations throughout the United States. A list of approved training providers and locations will be available soon. 

Our online training option allows us to expand our reach to provide WITPAC training in states where in-person training is not available. These entirely online sessions eliminate your commute and allow you to work in a comfortable at-home learning environment, all while retaining valuable face-to-face time with the instructor and providing opportunities for student collaboration.

Read More
How did WITPAC come to be?

The manufacturers understand that training is an important part of this transformation and have commissioned a new training curriculum and certification for transportation providers. Evergreen Safety Council has been identified as the organization with the capability and experience to develop and deploy this training.

Following a number of incidents involving the transportation of wind energy components, major manufacturers GE, Siemens-Gamesa, and Vestas decided to establish standard safety practices for carriers. They recognized the importance of not only establishing new expectations, but also the need to transform the culture of the wind component transportation industry.

Read More
What does the online WITPAC course include?

The online course has five modules:

  • Teamwork and communication
  • Route surveys
  • Pre- and post-trip meetings
  • Lead and high pole P/EVO duties
  • Rear P/EVO and steerman duties

The online course will be followed by a prep exam that will help you get ready for the written knowledge test that’s administered in the instructor-led class.

Read More
How long will the online WITPAC course take?

The time needed to complete the online course will vary from person to person, but you will want to budget several hours for it. We recommend starting the online course no less than a week before your instructor-led class day. The instructor-led course is 8 hours long, including exam time.

Read More
Where will WITPAC courses be offered?

Students can register for the course through either Evergreen Safety Council (fully online classes only) or through an Evergreen Safety Council authorized training provider.

The self-directed online portion of the course will be accessible through Evergreen Safety Council’s website.

The 8-hour instructor-led course will be held either through video conferencing software (if you register for a fully online course) or in person in certain locations.

Read More
What is your Covid-19 Policy?

We are taking necessary precautions to protect our students and staff by following county, state and federal COVID-19 transmission prevention requirements. To read more about our protective measures, visit our Covid-19 update page. You can also receive updates on the situation by subscribing to our mailing list.

Read More
How long do I have to complete the EverSafe Driving Program® online course?

You can take as long as you need to complete the course materials and pass the exam. You can take it whenever is most convenient, and you have unlimited tries to pass the final exam.

Read More
How long is your online course?

Some training courses can take days or weeks. With our online course, operators can become certified in as little as one hour. On average, it takes around four hours.

Read More
What are the digital document requirements for the online Colorado Pilot Car course?

1. Driver’s License (front and back):
Students must provide a digital color copy of the front and back of their current driver’s license.

2. Motor Vehicle Record:
A current (within the last 30 days) Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) in the state of current residence, for the immediate previous five year period.

3. Proof of Commercial Insurance (certificates or endorsements):
Current certificate(s) of insurance or endorsement(s) which indicates that the operator, or the operator’s employer, has in full force and effect insurance coverage(s) for bodily injury and/or property damage as a result of the operation of the escort vehicle, the escort vehicle operator, or both causing the bodily injury and/or property damage arising out of an act or omission by the Pilot Escort Vehicle operator of the escort duties required by the Rules of the State of Colorado.

4. A Passport Photo:
Students must provide a digital passport photo.
No selfies – face the camera directly
No Glasses
No Head Wear (unless for religious reasons)
Plain White background
Size – 2×2 inches (500×500 pixels at 300dpi)

Read More
Where do I begin?

Click enroll now to begin. Create an account to purchase your desired course. Launch the course, read all study materials, take the test and receive certification.

Read More
Do I need a practical examination alongside this training?

Yes. After completing this course, you’ll receive a certificate of completed classroom training. Print this certificate and show it to your employer. Your employer will give you a practical evaluation on the forklift you will be using in the workplace, and document your certification in their records.

Read More
Is this course compatible with my iPhone, iPad, or other mobile devices?

You can use your PC, Macintosh, iOS, or Android mobile phone, tablet, and more to access this course and exam. If you’re on a mobile device, simply download the mobile application, sign in, and start the course!

Read More
Can I demo this course before purchasing?

Yes! Click here to launch our online demo.

*Note: Progress is not saved in trial edition and the demo is only avaiable on desktop.

Read More
How long do I have to complete the Forklift Operator Certification Course?

You can take as long as you need to complete the course materials and pass the exam. You can take it whenever is most convenient, and you have unlimited tries to pass the final exam.

Read More
How long does it take to get forklift certified?

Some training courses can take days or weeks. With our online course, operators can become certified in as little as one hour.

Read More
How do I upload required documents?

You can upload your required documents by using our Colorado registration from.

Note, you must register for the Colorado Pilot Car class via our registration portal, prior to uploading your documents.

Read More
Are cards from other states accepted in Colorado?

Yes. Currently, Colorado accepts cards from Arizona, Florida, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Utah, and Washington. See the CDOT Pilot/Escort Vehicle Information page for details.

Our Pilot Car Reciprocity Page also has more information about this topic.

Read More
Is the Colorado certification valid in other states?

Yes. The Colorado P/EVO certification is valid in several other states.

Please see our Pilot Car Reciprocity Page for further details.

Read More
What equipment do I need to operate a pilot car in Colorado?

P/E vehicles are required to have special signs, lights, and specific safety equipment. Refer to Colorado Code of Regulations, sections 502 through 506 for details.

Read More
What kind of vehicle do I need to operate as a pilot in Colorado?

Details on pilot car vehicle and equipment requirements for Colorado are listed in the Colorado Code of Regulations, sections 502 through 506.

Read More
What kind of insurance do I need in order to operate as a P/EVO in Colorado?

According to Colorado Code of Regulations 500.4, P/EVOs in Colorado must

500.4.3 Possess current certificate(s) of insurance or endorsement(s) which indicates that the operator, or the operator’s employer, has in full force and effect insurance coverage(s) for bodily injury and/or property damage as a result of the operation of the escort vehicle, the escort vehicle operator, or both causing the bodily injury and/or property damage arising out of an act or omission by the Pilot Escort Vehicle operator of the escort duties required by the Rules. Such insurance(s) or endorsement(s) shall be no less than $1,000,000 Combined Single Limit and/or $1,000,000 per occurrence of commercial liability coverage, as applicable, and must be maintained at all times during the term of the certification. The insurance certificate must indicate on the face of the document that the policy is for the operation of Pilot Escort Vehicle(s) and pilot escort duties/responsibilities as required by these Rules.

Read More
What are the requirements for being a P/EVO in Colorado?

According to Colorado Code of Regulations 500.4, students must meet the following requirements in order to attend a Pilot/Escort Certification Program:

500.4.1 Must be a minimum of 18 years of age.

500.4.2 Possess a valid driver’s license for the state jurisdiction in which he/she resides.

500.4.3 Possess current certificate(s) of insurance or endorsement(s) which indicates that the operator, or the operator’s employer, has in full force and effect insurance coverage(s) for bodily injury and/or property damage as a result of the operation of the escort vehicle, the escort vehicle operator, or both causing the bodily injury and/or property damage arising out of an act or omission by the Pilot Escort Vehicle operator of the escort duties required by the Rules. Such insurance(s) or endorsement(s) shall be no less than $1,000,000 Combined Single Limit and/or $1,000,000 per occurrence of commercial liability coverage, as applicable, and must be maintained at all times during the term of the certification. The insurance certificate must indicate on the face of the document that the policy is for the operation of Pilot Escort Vehicle(s) and pilot escort duties/responsibilities as required by these Rules.

In addition to the documents listed above, you must also submit an official copy of your Motor Vehicle Record and a passport photo in order to register for the Colorado P/EVO class. See our application page for details.

Read More
Are cards from other states accepted in Washington?

Yes. Currently, Washington accepts cards from Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Utah, and Virginia. See the WSDOT Pilot/Escort Vehicle Information page for details.

Read More
Is the Washington State certification valid in other states?

Yes. The Washington State P/EVO certification is valid in several other states.

See our Pilot Car Reciprocity Page for further details.

Read More
What equipment do I need to operate a pilot car in Washington State?

P/E vehicles are required to have special signs, lights, and specific safety equipment. Refer to Washington Administrative Code 468-38-100(9-10) for details.

Read More
What kind of vehicle do I need to operate as a pilot in Washington State?

According to Washington Administrative Code 468-38-100(8):

In addition to being in safe and reliable operating condition, the vehicle shall:

(a) Be either a single unit passenger car, including passenger van, or a two-axle truck, including a nonplacarded service truck;

(b) Not exceed a maximum gross vehicle weight or gross weight rating of sixteen thousand pounds;

(c) Have a body width of at least sixty inches but no greater than one hundred two inches;

(d) Not exceed the legal limits of size and weight, as defined in chapter 46.44 RCW;

(e) Be equipped with outside rear-view mirrors, located on each side of the vehicle; and

(f) Not tow a trailer while escorting.

Read More
What kind of insurance do I need in order to operate as a P/EVO in Washington?

According to Washington Administrative Code 468-38-100(16):

For hire certified pilot/escort vehicle operators are required to have insurance to conduct the duties associated to this rule:

(a) One hundred thousand dollars for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident;

(b) Three hundred thousand dollars for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident; and

(c) Fifty thousand dollars for damage to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.

Satisfactory evidence of the insurance shall be carried at all times by the operator of the pilot vehicle, which evidence shall be displayed upon request by a law enforcement officer.

Read More
What are the requirements for being a P/EVO in Washington State?

The following qualifications are general requirements for P/EVOs in Washington State:

  • Must carry a valid certification card (if required for the state in which they are operating—not all states require certification cards).
  • Must carry proof of the required insurance for each state they are entering or working in.
  • Must be in possession of a valid driver’s license.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Should be able to follow written and verbal instructions.
  • If corrective lenses are necessary, the operator must be wearing the lenses while performing P/E duties.
  • Must be able to perform emergency flagging and traffic control duties and traffic control (including, if necessary, standing for long periods of time in various weather conditions).
  • Must be drug and alcohol free when performing P/EVO duties.
  • Must be healthy and free of fatigue.
  • Must not display badge, shield, emblem, or uniform of color or design that may be mistaken for law enforcement badge, emblem or uniform.

Each state has different certification and insurance requirements for P/EVOs. If you will be traveling through multiple states, you should check that you are carrying the proper type and amount of insurance for each, and that your certification is valid in each state. 

Read More
How will I get my course materials?

Your course materials will be sent to you in the mail prior to your training session.

Read More
How will I access the webinar and the exam?

The online P/EVO training is a live online training course facilitated in real time by a remote instructor. All training is conducted through Zoom. Online testing is conducted through Test Invite. Students will receive directions for logging into Zoom in their confirmation letter. They must log into the training at least 15 minutes prior to the beginning of the session.

Read More
What if my equipment fails or I am unable to access Zoom?

If there are technical issues on the student’s end that prevent them from connecting to the class, they will be required to re-register, repay, and attend all segments of the session over again.

Read More
Can I share a computer with another student?

No. Everyone must be on their own device. Sharing a computer with another class participant is NOT allowed.

Read More
What equipment do I need for the online class?

You are required to use a laptop or computer with working speakers, microphone, and webcam.

You must have an internet connection capable of streaming live video and a current operating system capable of running Zoom and our testing platform. You can take the following sample test to check everything will work well for you.

Note: phones and tablets are not allowed as they will not work with the testing platform. If you do not have such a computer, you will not be able to attend and no refund will be issued.

Read More
I have commercial driving experience. Do I still need to be certified?

Yes. Even if you have a CDL, you must still be certified as a P/EVO in order to operate a pilot car in Washington or Colorado.

Read More
I’m certified in another state. Can I transfer that?

Certifications are not transferable between states. In other words, you may not exchange your state certification for a different state certification. However, many states have reciprocity and acceptance agreements, making it possible for P/EVOs who are certified in one state to legally operate in another.

Note that each state has its own specific requirements for P/EVOs, equipment, and procedures. It is your responsibility to understand the laws and regulations in each state you operate in.

Read More
I operate in another state. Should I get certified in Washington or Colorado?

It depends. Washington and Colorado each have agreements with other states that allow operators with valid cards to operate legally in those states, provided they follow all state laws, rules, and regulations. If you operate in a state that has reciprocity with either Washington or Colorado, you may want to consider getting certified in one of these states. Refer to this chart from the Federal Highway Administration for details on reciprocity.

Read More
Who enforces certification requirements?

Certification is enforced by the State Patrol on highways and at the weigh stations.

Read More
Who is required to undergo P/EVO training?

Anyone serving as a Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operator within the borders of Washington State or Colorado must be trained and certified.

Read More
Is training and certification required?

Yes, training and certification are required for Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operators in both Washington and Colorado.

Read More
Is training available at a company’s facility?

Yes. Contact Evergreen Safety Council for more information.

Read More
How long is the certification valid for?

Washington and Idaho certifications are valid for four years. Oregon certification is valid for three years.

Read More
Where are the classes located?

Please visit our course calendar for a complete list of scheduled classes.

Read More
What states accept the TCS cards?

Washington only accepts a Washington State card at this time. Oregon only accepts an Oregon State card at this time.

Idaho will accept both Washington and Oregon TCS cards; however, the TCS is responsible for reviewing Idaho standards and laws.

Read More
What is the difference between a TCS and TCT?

TCS stands for Traffic Control Supervisor.

The TCS ensures that the traffic control measures shown on the approved traffic control plans are properly implemented, operating, and documented on the project. The contractor’s TCS may not be required full time on a given project, but is required to perform all duties required by the specifications. The TCS is responsible to be on the project whenever traffic control labor is being utilized, or less frequently if authorized by the engineer.


TCT is a Traffic Control Technician.

The TCT is an apprentice position, indicating an individual who has not obtained enough hours and/or experience to be a TCS but has passed the Traffic Control Supervisors Course. The TCT can perform some of the duties of the TCS under the TCS’s supervision. (Note: The TCT is not a recognized certification in Washington; Idaho offers a separate course for a TCT.)

Read More
Do I have to have a picture on my card?

No. The cards are designed to be valid with a Government issued photo ID (such as a state ID card or driver’s license).

Read More
What is the minimum age to qualify as a flagger?

Because flagging is classified as a hazardous job, flaggers must be at least 18 years old in order to receive a Flagger Certification card.

Read More
Can I use my card in other states?

Washington and Idaho State Flagger cards are accepted in the states of Idaho, Oregon, Montana and Washington for Department of Transportation projects.

Read More
What makes your program better?

Our program is designed for companies that need to target their driver training to specific vehicle(s) and driving situations. The program can be delivered in a one-hour, two-hour, four-hour, six-hour, or eight-hour format. The training assumes students are a good drivers and want to improve their skills. The presentation is positive, interesting, and encourages student participation while giving the instructor flexibility to best meet audience needs.

Read More
Is the class preapproved for companies, courts or senior citizens?

Not at this time. However, if you provide the name and contact information of the insurance company we can send our material for review and approval.

Read More
How do I register for an instructor class?

You can register for the training online with a credit card by or fill out a registration form and submit it to Evergreen Safety Council.

Read More
How do I maintain my certification?

To recertify and maintain your certification as an EverSafe Driving Instructor you must:

1. Teach at least one (1) EverSafe Driving class each year (using Evergreen Safety Council’s class material only).

2. Attend a four (4) hour EverSafe Driving Instructor recertification class every three (3) years, no later than 60 days after your certification has expired.

3. Attend any required material update courses.

4. Sign a new Memorandum of Understanding every three (3) years.

Read More
How long is the instructor certification valid?

The certification is valid for three years.

Read More
What do we submit after completing the class?

A roster for each class taught needs to be sent to Evergreen Safety Council within five days of the course completion.

Read More
What materials will I receive in the class?

Participants receive all necessary training materials—instructor manual, DVD, CD with PowerPoint presentations, Teaching Techniques handbook and a participant guide—in an embossed carrying case, plus a three-year instructor certification.

Read More
What are the class hours?

Sign-in begins at 7:30am and the class runs from 8am to 5pm.

Read More
How long does the class last?

The class lasts for two days.

Read More
What are the prerequisites to taking the EverSafe Driving Program Instructor class?

You must have a valid driver’s license and be comfortable standing and teaching in front of a group.

Read More
When is retraining required?

PIT operator certification is good for a three-year period, unless there is a change in workplace conditions or the vehicle to be operated. In these cases, the operator must be retrained and re-evaluated to ensure that they can safely operate. If it has been three years since their last certification, it is recommended that operators retake the formal (classroom or online) training, in addition to completing the practical evaluation.

Read More
How can I register?

You can register online by visiting our registration portal, located in the top right corner of this window.

Read More
What if the operator already has experience?

Operators may receive part of their training from an outside agency or company, such as Evergreen Safety Council’s Forklift Operator course. However, they will still need to be evaluated by their employer on the forklift they operate in their workplace, and employers must keep a record of that evaluation.

Read More
Who should undergo training?

Every person who operates a powered industrial truck. Each operator must have documentation of training and evaluation.

Read More
How long is the forklift instructor certification valid?

The Forklift Instructor Certification is valid for three years.

Read More
How big is the class?

Maximum class size is 12 students.

Read More
How long is the course?

The course lasts one day, from 8am to 4pm.

Read More
What are the prerequisites for the Forklift Instructor course?

Participants must be knowledgeable and experienced with the equipment they will be training operators on or arrange to be trained as an operator by the instructor.

Read More
What is your returned check policy?

Returned checks–whether non-sufficient funds checks or stopped payment checks–will incur a service charge of $35.00.

Payment with a non-sufficient funds check or stopping payment on a check does not cancel registration. Payment in full is required to receive final paperwork or related certifications.

Read More

Courses

On-sites

Resources

About